Browsing Architecture Archives by Issue Date

Browsing Architecture Archives by Issue Date

Sort by: Order: Results:

  • Lennox, Canning & Goad (2011-07-25)
    Exchange Buidings, 1890. Erected at a cost of 125,000 pounds, this building, in the Neo-Classic tradition, was opened on February 10th, 1890. Situated corner commissioner and Simmonds Streets, it was partly converted into ...
  • Unkown (2011-07-25)
    Residence in Parktown, 1902. A good example of the late Victorian house, built on a large scale in south Africa, from 1890 to 1905. Foundations and plinths are of stone, while red brick was contrasted with white wooden ...
  • Davies Bros. (2011-08-02)
    Commissioner street, off Sauer street. Fremch Renaissance style was adopted for the Mining Camp's first double-storeyed Bank. The building is still existing today, and is thus one of the city's oldest. Portion of the ...
  • Unknown (2011-08-02)
    View of the building fronting onto New Street North and Joubert Street. This buildingwas surrounded by tall blue-gum trees for many years, these striking an incongruous note in the city pattern. Johannesburg's first Court ...
  • Unknown (2011-08-02)
    1889, corner of Rissik, showing buildings on present Stuttaford's site. The tower of St. Mary's Hall is in the middle distance. "A hive of industry and a nursery of great expectations..."
  • Rand Club 
    Unknown; Reid & McCowat (2011-08-02)
    The leading club of the Mining Town, with libraries, restaurant, billiard room and bedrooms. On the same site as the presemt Club, fronting onto Loveday, Fox and Commissioner Streets. Extensive use of cast iron and stock ...
  • Unknown (2011-08-04)
    Seen from Pritchard Street. In the middle distance, adjoining Palace Buildings, is a portion of the well-known Henwood's Building, constructed almost entirely of cast-iron. "Henwood's Arcade" was a great shopping venue ...
  • Unknown (2011-08-04)
    All Johannesburg's Victorian architecture is stamped with a certain amount of ostentation arising out of exuberant and excessive decoration. Once the early pioneers realised that Johannesburg was there to stay and was ...
  • Photo: Africana Museum (2011-08-04)
    Facing the Market Square, c/o Market and Loveday Streets. Date unknown.
  • Photo: F.Fisher (2011-08-04)
    Kensington, originally the home of Mr. Sam Marks, the great Mining Magnate of early Johannesburg. Date Unkown.
  • Unknown (2011-08-04)
    From the Post Office, looking South West. On the extreme right is the Market Hall. 1900.
  • Unknown (2011-08-04)
    Corner of Eloff Street showing on the left, the first Chundleigh's Building site of the present O.K.Bazaars and across the road, the single-storey building on the present Cuthbert's site.
  • Unknown (2011-08-04)
    The Market Hall on the left, the Colonial Trust Building and the African City Property Trust Building in the Centre. Date Unkown.
  • Photo: Africana Museum (2011-08-04)
    An early print showing Palace Building, a well-known city land-mark today. Rissik Street was an important shopping area especially in the 'nineties. 1889.
  • Unknown (2011-08-04)
    First Telephone Exchange, 1891, Johannesburg.
  • Donaldson, J.S. (2011-08-04)
    Corner Rissik and Pritchard Streets, Johannesburg's most famous landmark from the historical building point of view. Characterised by its picturesque appearance arising out of intricate detailing and the fascinating, ...
  • Stoloff, Cyril A. (2011-08-04)
    Letter detailling the history of Johannesburg's late Victorian Architecture, as dispalyed in the Cyrill Stoloff photograph collection. The photographs are held in the Architecture School, Library and Archival Collection, ...
  • Photo: Africana Museum (2011-08-04)
    Market Street, which housed the premises of Hepworth's, the clothiers, and the first branch of Cuthbert's, the Shoe store. Adjoining this building in Harrison Street, was the first South African Mutual Building. Date unknown.
  • Photo: Africana Museum (2011-08-04)
    On the site of the present Woolworth's Building, also the site of the original wood and iron structure of 1894. "Neo-Classic" facade. 1898.
  • Unknown (2011-08-04)
    Joubert Street. The firm of Paddon & Brock opened in Johannesburg at the lower end of Market Square in 1887, and erected their new building in 1893 in Pritchard Street, with an entrance also in Joubert Street.

Search WIReDSpace


Browse

My Account